Applications for the APAC 2024 Fellowship Program are open  – APPLY NOW

News from the UK: The Marketing Academy Mentor Award Winners

“A truly great Mentor is hard to find, difficult to part with and impossible to forget’’

The Marketing Academy is a staunch advocate of the power of mentoring. So much so that mentoring has formed a core part of their coveted Scholarship Programme for the last 7 years. The 9 month development programme for emerging talent attracts hundreds of the industry’s highest profile CEO’s and CMO’s who each gift their time to mentor the Academys Scholars.

Every year the graduating class of 30 Scholars each selects just one person from all the inspirational leaders they meet across their Scholarship year to receive a ‘Mentor Award’, a small way of appreciating the individual who made an extra special impact. It’s one of the only industry awards that recognises leaders on a personal level.

Founder of The Marketing Academy Sherilyn Shackell said ‘We are so lucky to have some of the UK’s greatest marketers and leaders donate their time to advise, encourage and share experiences with our Scholars.  We created the Mentor Awards as a way to celebrate those extraordinary people who donate their valuable time to help develop the next generation of leaders’

The Marketing Academys graduating Scholars announced these special accolades during an event at the British Film Institute on 9th May at London’s Southbank.

The winners of The Marketing Academy Mentor Awards are…

Andy Duncan, CEO of Camelot

Ben Fennell, CEO of BBH

Camilla Harrisson, Partner & CEO of Anomaly London LLP

Catherine Flynn, Senior Leader of Facebook

Charles Allen, Marketing Director of Arsenal Football Club

Cilla Snowball, Group Chairman & CEO of AMV BBDO

Craig Inglis, Customer Director of John Lewis Plc

Ed Smith, Consultant with Dentsu Aegis

Fiona Dawson, President Mars Food, Drinks and Multisales from Mars UK

James Scroggs, Founder of HOOP London

Keith Moor, Chief Marketing Officer of Santander

Marc Lewis, Dean of School of Communication Arts

Mark Evans, Group Marketing Director of Direct Line Group

Michelle Hutton, Chief Executive of Edelman

Mike Hughes, former Director General of ISBA

Paul Frampton, CEO of Havas Media Group UK

Peter Markey, Marketing Director of TSB

Phil Rumbol, Founder of 101

Philippa Snare, CMO EMEA of Facebook

Richard Tyler, Chief Possibility Architect, BTFI Ltd

Rita Clifton, Chairman of Brandcap

Ros King, Director of Marketing Communications for Lloyds Banking Group Plc

Sally Cowdry, Consumer & Retail Director of Camelot UK

Sara Cremer, CEO of Redwood Group

Shadi Halliwell, Group Marketing & Creative Director of Harvey Nichols

Simon Biltcliffe, Managing Director of Webmart

Stephen Miron, Group CEO of Global Media Group

Suki Thompson, Founder of Oystercatchers

Tim Duffy, Chairman of M&C Saatchi

Toby Jenner, Worldwide COO of MediaCom Worldwide

The Marketing Academy Australia Logo


The Marketing Academy Australia acknowledges and pays respect to the past, present and future Traditional Custodians and Elders of this nation and the continuation of cultural, spiritual and educational practices of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.